Classification of eTransactions

There are several varieties of e-Sevice that are currently provided to the citizens through the various e-Governance programs under Central and State Government.Private Businesses also provide e-Services. The broad classification of e-Services is G2C, G2B, G2G, G2E, B2B and B2C. These e-transactions can have the nature of statutory services like certificates, permits, licenses etc. They can also be related to non-statutory services like grievance redressal, payment of social pensions and social welfare scholarships, NREGA payments etc. They may be also purely routine and of repetitive nature, like utility bills payment.

In order to get clarity and uniformity across the country in the manner of setting target of e-transactions benefiting the citizens achieving the targets and reporting these figures, the following classification is indicated for use of Ministers of Central Govt. and the State Govt. to facilitate monitoring the progress of e-transactions.

Category of Services Description of Services
Category A
  • All statutory and non-statutory services in the G2C, G2B segments.
  • Payment of taxes by citizens.
  • Payment of subsidies, social welfare pensions and scholarship by the Govt.
  • e-transactions relating to PDS and Rural Development Departments
  • All e-transactions relating to self-service over the web by the citizen
Category B Utility Bill Payments
Category C
  • All B2C transactions delivered through CSC's or other types of Citizen Service Centers.
  • All miscellaneous e-transaction not covered by A and B above.
  • All transactions of Category A and B that do not result in Across the country service, but involve multiple visits by citizens.

Individual targets are being set up for categories A, B and C. The target rate will be with reference to a month i.e the aggregate number of e-transactions delivered by various agencies in a month across the State.